The following people are on the Council of the National Trust of SA, following the Annual General Meeting in November 2012.

Norman Etherington, President
Norman Etherington was, until his recent retirement, Professor of History at the University of Western Australia and a member of the Heritage Council of WA. For ten years he was a Council Member of the National Trust of WA. During his period as Lecturer and Reader in History at the University of Adelaide from 1968-1989, he served as inaugural Chair of the History Trust of SA and an Alderman of the Adelaide City Council. He holds a PhD in History from Yale University and is a past president of the Australian Historical Association.

Brian McMillan, Vice President
Member, Interim Management Board, 2012. Regional Councillor, Southern and Hills Region, 2011-2012. Chair, Willunga Branch, 2011-2012. Member of the National Trust of Australia (NSW) since 1968, and active member of the National Trust of South Australia after retirement in 2010, after 45 years with the Australian Public Service, in Sydney, Canberra, Darwin, Perth, Melbourne and Adelaide, at various times. Principal heritage interest is in the built environment.

Sue Scheiffers, Vice President
Sue has been a member of the NTSA since the 1970s and served as Whyalla Branch Secretary for 5 years. She is currently the Regional Representative for the Eyre Peninsula, serves on Council, and is Chair of the Editorial and Publications Committee and the Regions & Branches Committee. She is also a member of the Collingrove Advisory Committee, the Strategic Planning Sub-Committee, the Collections Committee and the Education Working Party. Sue has also found time to publish 4 books of local histories and has successfully applied for several State Office grants. She is also the Community Heritage Project Manager for SA175 and has also rolled out the new computerized collections database to the Branches.

Elected Councillors

David Beaumont.
David Beaumont’s professional career has been in Architecture and he has worked extensively in the property industry in South Australia.
He has been a Life Member of the National Trust since the late 1960’s; demonstrating a passion and commitment to the conservation of cultural and built heritage. He is Chairman of the Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee. David was President of the National Trust of South Australia from 2010-12, becoming the Trust’s official spokesperson and advocate on issues of built heritage. In 2012 he began a Phd in Architecture at the University of Adelaide.

Bob Green
Bob Green has professional and extensive experiences with nature conservation, land management and historical building preservation. He has worked in the National Parks and Wildlife Service and Salisbury Council. Bio-diversity and wildlife management are some of his major interests with the creation and ongoing maintenance of wildlife corridors, new wetlands as well as restoration of existing natural woodlands.

Peter Langhans

Darryl Morley
Darryl joined the Council in January 2012 and is Regional Representative South East. He has a background in teaching and administration, as well as a vast knowledge of history and geography. He has served on many committees at district and state level.

Neil Nicholson
Joined the NTSA Council in July 2011 as Regional Representative. Interested in collecting( just about everything), touring(SA is a great place) History(SA is full of it).

Darren Peacock
Darren Peacock is the Director of Sweet Technology, an independent strategy consultancy based in Adelaide. Darren works with government, cultural, educational and community organisations to help them plan and implement digital communication strategies. He has twenty years’ experience in planning and managing information and communication projects and services.
Darren has worked as a curator, manager and consultant for museums in Australia, Europe and North America. He holds on Honours degree in Australian history and a graduate diploma in Arts and Cultural Management. He recently completed his doctoral research on digital information and communication technologies and organisational change within cultural heritage institutions. Before establishing Sweet Technology in Adelaide in 2004 he was Director of Information and Communication Technology at the National Museum of Australia in Canberra.

Chris Perriam
Chris has been a member of the National Trust of South Australia since 1975, starting out in the NTSA younger members, or 18-36 group, and is currently Secretary of the Burnside Branch. He is a member of the Audit, Finance and Governance Committee and has been associated with a number of National Trust properties and Committees.

Richard Stewart

Marilyn Tucker
Marilyn worked as an accountant for over 25 years, and has served as Treasurer of Gawler Branch for over 10 years. She is currently the Council Representative for the Central Area and Chair of the Audit, Finance and Governance Committee.

Robin Wight
Robyn has a keen interest in our cultural heritage and has worked as a volunteer at Ayers House since 2004. She has had an extensive career in administration and now serves on the Fundraising and Membership Committee, the Ayers House Advisory Committee as well as the Council


Search Our Web Pages